You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) May 19, 2010 - 2:40 p.m.

Yep, did a half marathon on the weekend. Won a medal for it and all that.

Daniel and I won medals because everyone else did. In a field of 1487, I beat slightly over twenty people.

I mostly blame Daniel because we ran the first three kilometres to the first toilet stop, and then he spent maybe six minutes in there doing something mysterious. By that time, I had made lifelong friends with some chicks behind me in the toilet queue, and the entire field of runners had disappeared. Also, after that, Daniel walked very slowly, but we promised each other that we'd begin exactly together and we'd finish exactly together. Somehow he still beat me by one second, though. Damn him.

We had to get up at 2:30AM for the privilege of running this half marathon because it was at the Great Ocean Road. We had to get there by 6AM. That's kind of the greatest stretch of road beside a beach ever, and we saw the sun rise, so I guess it was all worth it.

After the race, we ate a regulatory banana and then lay there inert in the car for ten minutes, then we hung around in town for the rest of the day because Daniel had inadvertently parked the car right next to the finish line. At 2:30PM, just after the very, very, very last full marathon runner was seen to the end, we moseyed on home.

Hot dang, that was a long-arse day. But it was fun as.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]