You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) August 20, 2001 - 2:10 p.m.

I went and soaked up the sweet and sassy sounds of Fantomas last night. I saw them once before, a few months back. I can�t figure out how to put that pointy thing above the �o� in Fantomas, so that will just have to do.

Roland and I got very lost before the concert, mostly because I claimed to know where I was going. I thought I�d remember how to get there as I�d spent such a harrowing, unforgettable time getting home the last time I saw the band. But, no.

We drove along a weird road and eventually, I did a bunch of stuff that made us appear in the right spot. Then we ate dinner across the road from the venue. Then we parked outside the place. It was rainy and cold. We didn�t have enough change to feed the ticket machine. We ran to a bottle shop and bought chocolate and ran back and fed the machine and then stood in line.

Man, when we got in there, we were drenched. I was ridiculously cold. I was wearing a musty jacket that wasn�t in the least waterproof. My glasses had fogged up. But, anyway, we were in. We waited.

Some guy was the support act. This time, it was actually music. It was very good, especially because two people in front of where Roland and I were standing danced like mad so we had something to look at. I never did find out what the name of the support act was but I�d buy his/their CD if I had more money. People were very polite and patient and didn�t boo the guy, as is what happens at some concerts.

We only had to wait a few minutes before Buzz Ozbourne appeared on stage and got his guitar stuff ready. Then he went away and we were treated to a series of advertisments for Ed-Wood style D-grade films about giant aliens and stuff. I couldn�t see a thing, but I mostly got the point. The problem with Fantomas fans it that they�re all very, very tall.

Then the band started to play.

They all looked very nice. Buzz was wearing a charming blue-and-red flannel number with the sleeves rolled up in a casual style for those days when you potter around in the garden. Trevor Dunn wore a black shirt with striking red cap. Mike, pretty as ever, wore a striking white shirt and Dave Lombardo appeared to be wearing a very large gong with accessorised drumsticks. Man, that gong must get around.

They played things from their first album and lots of stuff from their new album too. They played that nifty song where Buzz uses a wah pedal with much gusto again. I don�t know if you can get that one on CD, but it sure is nice. There was a lot more fun stage banter courtesy of Mike and he was a lot more cheeky this time as well, but Buzz still did not say a word! I wish he would. He does look ever so relaxed on stage, though. It�s good. In fact, the whole lot of them seemed to be having so much fun, it was very nice. And the place was packed out; a lot more so than last time from what I can recall. And everyone knew where to clap this time. There were no awkward silences where people were wondering what to do because this time they all knew exactly what to do. Everyone cheered a lot. A couple of dudes still shouted out annoying things but it did seem this time like virtually all the audience was here to see the actual band and knew the songs, rather than coming to see just one of the members. Because they are a supergroup.

The first album was tops, but this new album just shits all over it. It�s at least eight times as good. They are all very clever young chaps. It was a splendid show. Best show ever! Best band ever!

Then we got lost again and Roland had to read the map and we ran through a red light because I was freaking out.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]