You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) May 10, 2001 - 6:21 p.m.

Yesterday�s entry was extremely philosophical, but fuck it; here�s another one.

I thought in early high school that there was something terribly wrong with me as I didn�t go weak-kneed at my favourite member of Take That. In fact, I didn�t even know who any of the members were. I remember watching the telly when I was ten or eleven, seeing the video to Epic, thinking, �Who is this Faith No More? They sound like a Red Hot Chilli Peppers rip off and frankly, the dying fish scares the shit out of me.� I was very young. I did have nightmares about that fish and the fact that the piano exploded. At the time, I got my kicks out of listening to Monteverdi�s Vespers of the Virgin Mary which I taped off the radio. It�s good.

But I really wanted to have stupid crushes on stuff. I tried, believe me. But then I accidentally went and saw the film Farinelli and it didn�t help at all. I was still stuck in Baroque land. Being obsessed with Matt Dillon looked fun. But I just couldn�t do it. The only thing I really, really liked was still my Vespers of the Virgin Mary tape. I could sing it all in Italian and stuff. I felt kinda weird.

Suddenly, one night, my parents were out of the room and I watched the Grammys or something. Whoomp, there was Green Day. I liked them a lot. I got all their records, which at the time was easy because there were only three. And I bought Hole and Supergrass and etc. and so I was content.

But I always used to get terribly bothered when Roland said things about famous people like, �I like so-and-so. They are awesome.� Hey, I thought. You are not allowed to have celebrity crush. You might as well be having group sex with all my friends and parental units. I did not understand. How can anyone say those things to their own girlfriend?

But now I have been a non-teen for a couple of years, finally I understand. Here are my three universal truths.

  • Pop music definitely has its merits.
  • I now somehow enjoy listening to music and seeing art/films that scares the shit out of me or makes me feel sad.
  • Celebrity crushes are different to normal crushes. They are. I am not going to tell you who mine are, but if you know me, you�ll know anyway. Everyone should have some. It�s awesome when you�re listening to the radio and the announcer says �Tungsten Supreme-Nose from Murrumbeena has requested Blabla by the Doowhatsits for his best friend Con Wimplestein�. And you realise it�s someone else�s favourite song in the world too. And they share it with their friends. And they probably sing at the top of their lungs too. And when I go to the concert they will be there in the audience, waving their arms in the air, understanding the entire point of living is here right now and wishing they too could just share a hamburger with their most treasured celebrity.

    I still dig Monteverdi but there are other things that make me go more happily deranged than I ever thought I would.

    (postscript: Clare went and bought Monteverdi's L'Orfeo double CD set that very same day)




    Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]