You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) May 9, 2001 - 11:36 p.m.

Well. I have missed the special diaryland day. I just found out about it then. Oh, well.

It�s funny how faceless people creep into your life and suddenly they�re your good friends. I thought after high school, you weren�t supposed to make friends, and in fact, I�d only made one or two since primary school finished. But then, over the past year, I�ve got a bunch of them. One I was stoked about having but now she�s a pain; one I couldn�t stand talking to and always tried to avoid just two years ago, and one was a good friend already, but it has just gotten better.

This first friend seemed like a really, really nice person. She liked British comedy and she liked all the bands I liked. We went out the week we met each other. She was so wonderfully nice. But when I was hanging around with two particular other friends, she�d just ignore me. And them. They asked, �How come she doesn�t speak to us?� They were so much cooler than she was, I realise now. But because they were better friends with each other than with me, I kinda decided to sacrifice them for this friend. I am so dumb. Now I�m stuck with an extremely demanding, immature, rude friend. She is one of those, �I have more hardship than you� people. You know, one of those people who says, �I bloody have to travel on public transport to get my hair cut today and I don�t even care you have the �flu and that your leg is on fire and some Neo-Nazis are destroying your parents� graves and I�m probably more Jewish than you anyway.� Oh, well. I will call up one of the �others� maybe. I miss them. They liked gangsta rap.

Then there�s this next friend who I thought was a tosser. He is a tosser, but he�s a good one. I have known him for four years, but I avoided him for the first three. Then, somehow, he was a good friend. I do not know how this happened; I can�t remember anymore, but I get the feeling it was simply after a short conversation. �Yo. Let�s have lunch together.� �Dude, cool.� He is reliable but absolutely no help when you want to complain about stuff at someone. He�s all like, �Dude, you�re being too harsh. Chill, man.�

The third friend is good when you want to complain about people to, even though she always laughs so I always sound really mean. Um, that sounded mean, but it wasn�t supposed to. She�s just a really good friend, good to see trashy films with, have adventures with, play music with (she�s a grand musician), bake vanilla cakes with, discuss things with, etc. She is just good. Why is she such a good friend? Because she�s a good person. And she likes stuff that�s cool. But that�s just a facet of being good, I suppose.

And, of course, there is Rosie. I have known Rosie for like fifteen years or something, and she�s always been the superest friend possible, even when we were fighting (which does not happen anymore). After we finished high school, we kinda didn�t see each other much for a while, which made me really sad, but then we painted a table together and since then we�ve been better friends than ever. Last night at 11:00 PM she drove all the way to the city just to pick me up as I was a tad stranded. It was awesome. I wouldn�t ask anyone else, except maybe Michele, but that would have been impractical. I feel OK asking Rosie for favours and she can ask me for stuff if she wants too. It�s good. My vocabulary is tiny.

Also, in the past year, I�ve come to love reality TV, something I never thought possible.

Last night, I had dinner with two people who are about thirteen years older than me. They were saying a lot of things that made a lot of sense. I learned a great deal last night. They analysed their own friendship and other various relationships and went on enormous outrageous tangents and made each other laugh. They have been known to fight in the past, but I hope they don�t again because then they will be sad. They really like each other. It�s strange to find out so much about someone else�s friendships and simultaneously all about your own over fish and chips.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]