You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) August 8, 2000 - 22:26:27

This morning, I woke up, did that breathing in noisily thing that everyone does in the morning as they regain consciousness, and I got up.

It was a spiffingly lovely day. It was nice and warm, and the birds were flying in the sky, and the trees were brown and green, and so on. I didn't have any money, but that was only a minor thing. I also hadn't done any homework, which was really a major thing when I think about it now.

I went off happily to school, and frantically did a half-assed job of my homework, and then went to class and pinned it up on the board along with the rest of everyone's homework.

I was devastated that everyone else had actually tried to do a good job of their homework. It all looked really great. This wasn't like last semester in the least. Many of the people in my group last semester gave even less of a toss about doing good work than I do, and I hardly ever give a toss. Then, the worst thing possible happened. The daisy guy (the lecturer for the subject) came into our class and started talking about presentation and stuff. He looked at my work, pinned sadly way down the corner of the board, and proclaimed it to be "shithouse". I mean, it was shithouse, but I think he would have been thoroughly impressed if I'd mentioned to him that it took me all of half an hour to produce. He may have even been proud. I think he used the word "shithouse" in particular also because the building I had designed did look spectacularly like a backyard toilet. This was the lowpoint of my day.

After the daisy guy left, someone in my class actually had the nerve to laugh when I found out I had drawn something wrongly while I was obviously on the verge of smashing people's heads open. Her head was very close to my fist at the time.

Later on, this dude in my class came over and asked if I was OK, and I wanted to tell him a whole lot of stuff so I'd feel better just by getting it out. I basically smiled weakly and told him everything was fine, so he went off again and I sat there in the corner. Damn.

I got off the train that night, and it was thundering. I am irrationally frightened of lightning. I mean, I am really scared of it. Really. I ran and ran to Roland's house, where I was going to have dinner. I'd wait for a big crack of lightning and then I'd rush to the next huge tree, which is something that's not going to make the journey home remotely any more safe, though it seems that way and that's all I care about. Normally, being caught in the middle of a big thunderstorm would be the lowpoint of my day, but today it was the daisy guy. And the fact that I never do homework.

I wish I had the power of stopping time, the way that Piper does in the TV show Charmed. I'd go to school, freeze time, and then do my homework really well. I'd have so much spare time that way, too.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]