You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) June 09, 2010 - 11:52 a.m.

I saw a choir do Thomas Tallis' 40-part motet on Sunday. The motet is from 1557 or around then. I could have made up that number. The motet is some crazy, wack, intense stuff. Everyone out of the 40 people in the choir has to sing something different. It was in a church, and they all stood in a big square around the edges of the main part of the church, singing at the audience. Because the people I went with don't understand anything about the city they lived their entire lives in (with slight temporary exceptions), we ended up getting insanely lost and just managed to get there before it started. We were outside the magical choir square. Damn. I had to sit in the foyer facing a freaking narthex screen; my eyes completely filled with an extensive view of aged oak. That is, unless I sat up properly and craned my neck over the screen to see the actual inside of the church where all the action was, but then I got a sore butt. The chairs were unforgiving.

Maybe it wasn't such a bad thing that I wasn't inside the square of choir singers, because my right ear started twitching inside anyway due to the sheer volume of 40 people singing different things all at the same time kinda near me. I hate it when it does that.

But it was all good. I give it fifty out of ten. Choirs are pretty cool.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]