You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) September 07, 2009 - 9:42 a.m.

I went with my Mum to the nursing home to get Auntie Judy to take out for a bit of afternoon tea. We went past all the people who thought they were lost and the people who were yelling out for help they thought they needed and the people who wandered around in the corridor and the people who just sat there. There was an awesome fish tank.

Auntie Judy was in her room, out to the world. No matter how hard my Mum tried, she just wouldn't wake up. She had a little blanket on her and someone had put a cushion behind her head. There was a table in front of her with a glass of what looked like drinkable yoghurt in it.

I looked around the room at all the photos. There were pictures of all her relatives collaged into in big frames. The photos were from years and years ago. Everybody looked so different. There was a big photo above her bed of Great Grandma with me and one of my sisters and we're holding lots of toys. Great Grandma would always furnish us with notepads of all kinds of pastel colours when we went to their house. I was never without a notepad until I was 12, and that's when she died.

Auntie Judy had a pretty full-on life when she was young and now she's fading out slowly. I could see a vein pulsing in her head when she was sleeping in the chair. It was the only thing that was moving.

We gave up and ate the scones ourselves.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]