You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) November 22, 2005 - 11:58 a.m.

On Saturday, I went to see a performance of Modern Classical Music in a hall as performed by a couple of my uni friends, some other people and masterminded by one of our lecturers (hoping for extra points just in case I failed an exam).

I don't know why, but I decided beforehand to look like the craziest person there, so I wore a floral 1920s dress made out of 1970s fabric I'd just finished making, unmatching stripey stockings, and additionally unmatching red mary jane shoes. I definitely kicked everyone's arse in looking crazy. Maybe by way too much. I thought that at a Modern Classical Music gig there would be a bunch of crazy looking people wankering around, but it was only me. Damn.

One funny thing about my friends who belong to this group of Modern Classical Musicians is that they think the whole thing is a lot of wank, but it's fun to perform so they stay.

It might be fun to perform, but it is rarely fun to sit there really still for three hours in the dark getting blasted by microphoned random high flute notes. A booming voice at the start said, "Feel free to talk and walk around during the performance." We did a lot of that. The funny thing was, we were allowed to talk and run around during the actual perforemance, but not really during the intervals. At that time, we had to sit still and be quiet.

The performers were all dotted around the hall, and the seats were everywhere, too, facing all over the place. We decided it was best not to sit directly in front of the sax. Instead, we sat directly facing a piercing, blinding light.

At some point during the performance, we discovered at the bar that there was baklava. There was shitloads of it. Roland and I gorged ourselves upon it. There were three different types. I felt wasted after having it, and having to watch a visual of a decomposing body and hear all those flutes being not played properly for a long period of time.

After we finished watching the terribly Modern Classical Music, and congratulated everyone for their Modernity, we went home.

It was cool.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]