You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) August 21, 2005 - 11:30 p.m.

I just went to Canberra for three-ish days. How I got there was I jumped onto a tiny plane that had propellors on it and went through the sky and then some people told us to get off and we ran across a deep black void until we reached a deep brown void and that was Canberra.

I always get amazed at how puny and empty our nation's capital is. There are no buildings, no cars, no shops and no people. There are a hell of a lot of roads, though. No footpaths; just roads. Lots of roundabouts too, which are handy just in case you do encounter another car by some strange twist of fate. Apart from that, there's just a whole lot of brown grass and a few tree stumps here and there.

Apart from the fact that Canberra has less stuff in it than an abandoned hamlet, I did manage to do a couple of things. I saw the national sculpture prize which had a lot of silly sculptures, some good ones, and one excellent one, that was made out of zillions of money notes folded up into little shirts and strung into a huge 3d grid with a big hole in the middle.

You had to see it, OK? It actually won first prize.

I also liked the one that was a team of small bronze buddhas that said, 'om,' all the time. They were cute.

The other thing I saw was a Bill Viola exhibition, which I like more the more I think about it, mostly because I keep forgetting all about the crappy 'paintings' and only remember the good ones.

Anyway, good or bad, all the exhibits were panels of what could be described as very slowly-moving photographs, many of which were pseudo-religious things. I liked those the most. Some of the others were things like people standing around throwing very slow tantrums in pools of water, etc.

My favourite was Emergence. That is all.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]