You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) March 23, 2001 - 06:19 p.m.

Woah. Boy, oh boy, it's been a long time since I've been on the internet and I've done lots of interesting stuff I could have written about. But I've forgotten them now. I've seen five movies since the last time I wrote in here. I've had my period. I've designed an ugly office space and made an ugly model of a foyer for work. I've knitted a sleeve.

Knitting is cool, but it's labour intensive. With someone like me, who works full-time but earns a hundred and fifty bucks per week with no pay on public holidays (gripe gripe), I gotta knit. I need decent jumpers, man. Goddfuckingdammit, I hate my stupid-ass job.

CHILDREN. DO NOT BECOME ARCHITECTS.

Anyway, yeah. Knitting. Not job. This entry is about knitting.

So, I had this bright idea when I realised that the only jumpers I could afford were lime-green shapeless ones that crumble on human contact. I went to a big sewing shop and got all disillusioned because there was acrylic 'yarn' that was mostly lime green anyway. Then I went to K Mart and they had nice wool. I got this brown wool that had alpaca hair all over it. Nine balls cost me seventeen bucks, and that was all good because my Mum said it would cost at least eighty bucks.

Then I went to my Grandma's house and she gave me ice-cream. Then I got to work.

It took me about three days to figure out how to not knit masses of twisted, writhing alpaca wool. I was walking down the street, thinking of something else when the solution came to me. "Oh! You make the wool go the other way", I thought, and sure enough, that night, I started knitting stuff properly.

So, in four days, I've knitted a sleeve which is pretty fucking decent for someone who works all day for very small amounts of money. I'm not saying that the small amounts of money would make me work slower. I'm saying that I work eight hours a day so I don't have huge slabs of time to knit. I just wanted to remind you that I earn very small amounts of money. And I don't get paid for public holidays.

Stupid job.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]