You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) January 15, 2001 - 15:52:38

Last night, Diane and I saw some live music in the pub in which we played once, the Arthouse.

The first band was called Tupelo, and I'd never seen them before. They sounded a bit like Dinosaur Jr. and they were 'shoegazers'. The singer made me give him money and he put a stamp on my hand that hasn't come off yet. I yawned a lot while watching them play, but it wasn't because they were boring. It was just that the singer totally looked as if he was yawning himself every time he sang something. I yawn now in memory.

Their songs were good and had appropriately out-of-tune simple solos as provided by the pretty-boy lead guitarist. This guy had a huge rent in the seat of his pants and it pissed me off. He needs new pants. Big time.

They were good, though. I'd like to play with them one day.

Next up was Melissa's Partisan. I hadn't seen them since we played with them, and the lead guitarist said that they hadn't practiced since September. He's kinda pissed off that no-one else in the band is very enthusiastic. They didn't look enthusiastic when they played, either, but that's kind of their thing. It was all good, though. If I hadn't practiced since September, it would have been all bad.

Next up was Bindi, a band I'd never seen before but had been meaning to for a damn long time. They were pretty good and very power-chordy.

Then there was Myagi, the band we're going to be playing with sometime in lateish February. I've seen them before, and I think they're ace. It's like really evil pop or something, and they've got a couple of outrageously catchy songs. I think the singer's voice is cool, but she smokes far too much. Diane was suitably wowed by the drummer's antics. She might even be wowed enough to pick up her sticks for once and practice her own drums.

That's all for now.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]