You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) November 06, 2015 - 1:02 p.m.

I read that in the US, about $2 billion in gift cards never get cashed in every year.

I don't live in that country, but I personally might be almost up to $2 billion per year.

  • I got a voucher for an 'ultimate pedicure' for my birthday ($100 value). I didn't particularly want a pedicure, but I would have done it for the experience, if I could have been bothered making the appointment. I couldn't. It was a thing where they came to your house and everything. But that would have meant I would have needed to clean the house. So, pros and cons. But it was mostly that I had to call to make the appointment that made it all too hard.

  • We got a voucher for a holiday to the north of the state for Christmas. That would have meant figuring out when to have the holiday, and that was too hard. Plus, I had to interview people for my thesis at the time. So we didn't go. I don't even know what the value of the holiday was.

  • Millions of cinema vouchers that expire when your back is turned.

  • Once, we got given a year's membership to ACMI. If I had been 22, that would have been great, because I would have had large swathes of time to go into the city to watch obscure movies to make myself feel more 'arthouse.' But I wasn't 22 at the time. I was too old for that shit, working 12 hour days.

  • One very lucky one was when we got tickets to see the Post Secret guy when he came to Melbourne. I didn't have much interest in Post Secret, but at least I knew what it was. Anyway, Roland and I were sitting on the couch one evening, and I said, "I wonder when that Post Secret thing is." I found the tickets under a pile of crap on the coffee table and said, "Oh, shit, it's tonight!" So we jumped in the car, managed to find a parking spot near the Arts Centre, and got there just in time. It was OK. A lot of people got up at the end and told a secret. They were fucking traumatic. That's all I remember.

  • I still can't find my voucher for a walking tour of Melbourne (Christmas present). I would have done that one, if it had not already expired.

  • Roland's sister gave us a 'voucher' for our birthdays (i.e. handwritten card) promising she would make us a photo album of our 2009 trip to Greece. I guess that's probably still on offer, but whatever.

    I've also messed up myself before. I bought a ticket to see the Melvins aaaaaaages before the concert, and then I forgot to go. So I have never seen the Melvins play.




    Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]