You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) May 26, 2013 - 10:41 p.m.

I went to the goddamn dentist yesterday. I got my mouth stretched so bad I now have a huge rip in the right side of my mouth, like I'm a flesh ventriloquist's dummy. I can't even close my mouth properly anymore. It's so fuckin' floppy.

Today, instead of watching Antichrist, I watched Snowtown. That should be enough revolting violence in film for me for a couple of years.

Then, to cheer up, I watched Alan Partridge's Mid Morning Matters. They mentioned Alton Towers on the program. It made me think about how distinctive the naming of fun things in Britain is. The British naming of fun things seems somehow like they don't want the fun thing they are naming to get too full of itself by naming it something too fun sounding. Americans appear to call amusement parks stuff like Amazingland. Alton Towers sounds like an unpopular suburban office park to me.

Then again, Australians call their amusement parks things like 'Wobbies World'.

Makes it sound like the main attraction is a rusty car with the windows smashed in.

Ah, Wobbies World. I only got to go there once. I think you can still glimpse the castle, somewhat overgrown, when you're zipping down Springvale Road.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]