You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) March 26, 2013 - 1:27 p.m.

Weekend was pretty intense.

I got asked on Tuesday to play piano for a singing audition on the Saturday at 11:20 precisely. I was like, "yeah, sure."

On Thursday, I got the music. It was FIENDISH. Oh, my god. A ten-page note-fest, with 6 flats for a while, then two key changes.

I went pale.

The song was so cheesy, too. It was a song about singing in a musical. From a TV show. I thought to myself, you have no right to be so fuckin' difficult to play, song.

So, on Friday I worked two full time jobs: 1. Architecture daytime job. 2. Learning the damn song job.

On Saturday morning, I got up at 3 to practice it.

I practiced, and practiced, and practiced it.

Then, at about 8AM, something unseemly began to happen. In fact, it had been slowly drawing towards me like a shadow at sunset for hours.

The song became part of me.

I started to like it. I started to be able to play it like I had made it up myself. I was getting emotional when I was playing it. I was fuckin' nailing the shit out of it.

So I went to the audition, did the song for the fourteen-y-o kid who did emotive arm movements and everything, and I was on a total high. The whole actual performance went for about three minutes.

But the rest of the weekend, I spent in a stupor on the couch, because I'd had no sleep. The song echoed through my head.

I still haven't done my university homework.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]