You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) February 18, 2013 - 10:12 a.m.

The funeral was kind of off the chain.

I was the first person there, and the coffin was open when I went in. I didn't really go up to her to have a look, but I did see her nostrils a lot that morning. Katrina told me that if you are playing music at a funeral, you have a right to remove yourself from the emotion somewhat so you can go through with what you need to, so I focussed on that.

I played some intro music, some outro music, and something for the slideshow summing up her life.

The undertaker guys told me how long the slide show went. Three minutes thirty. I thought, that's good, because last time I timed myself, I was EXACTLY three minutes thirty.

So when the time came to play, I was confident. The slide show was happening somewhere behind me, so I had to rely on myself. And my phone in aeroplane mode on the music stand, which had a big stopwatch thing. But that's my secret.

I played real good. I had to loop things a bit and make up some extra parts, but when I played the last note, my phone said I'd been going for 3:35, and I turned around to look at the screen, and it was black, and then her name came up. Perfect timing. I punched the air. But I only punched it real small, because this was a funeral.

But, apparently, when I am grieving, I cry through my nose a lot. When I was playing that slideshow bit, the salty tears were just STREAMING out my nose. I needed a tissue roadie.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]