You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) January 02, 2013 - 10:59 p.m.

I got pulled over by the police for acting suspicious on New Year's Eve. The guy tried to pin me down for stealing, drunken driving, etc. I don't even know what else. But I got grilled hard, man. Yes, I was slowly driving up and down a residential street in Trafalgar. But that was because I was lost and I had just become overly intrigued by an incredibly lit up house with maybe FIVE Santas stashed brightly on the verandah. Yeah, I had something huge in the back of the car with a blanket on it, but it was a telescope. My telescope. Yes, if you had asked about its provenance, you might have found out it had magically found its way from Hawthorn High School to my place, but that magic journey had taken place ages ago.

I was just some guy attempting to find a dark, dark place. For stargazing, man.

So we found a primo vantage point. It was goooooood. I showed my captive audience Jupiter and its Galilean moons, some famous stars or whatever, a nebula and a globular cluster. Then a car appeared with its headlights destroying our dark-adjusted eyeballs - the cop car AGAIN. "Just checking up on us."

There was another car too at some point, but this one just drove up and idled near us beyond the outskirts of nowheretown, its engine running malevolently for about twenty minutes, and then finally, it left. I thought I was in for some Son of Sam type of ending for a while there.

At midnight, we lit some sparklers, and the mountain tops all around sputtered a little bit. I looked at some fireworks upside down in the telescope, and then I microslept the car all the way home.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]