You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) September 04, 2012 - 12:46 p.m.

On Friday, I literally got laughed at for not believing in ghosts and crystals. It made me sad way more than it should have.

I used to want to reason with people about their beliefs, mostly because I love my beliefs so hard (atheism and rationalism) and they make so much sense to me so I wanted everyone else to feel that way too. Then, I realised that is exactly how everyone feels.

I suppose that's why I felt sad. I was being derided by a close friend who thought my beliefs were ridiculous. This is my reality, man. I'm not going to say other people's reality is wrong to their face, even if they say something so far removed from my reality as insisting Big Macs have mystical powers and are the key to understanding Earth Prime. That's insulting and gets a person's defences up in a nanosecond, not to mention being a massive waste of time. But it sincerely doesn't matter if a close friend did it, or a complete stranger. Some Jehovah's Witnesses came to the door the very next day and they were all up in my face assuming I believed in Jesus' divinity and that I wanted to know the future. And that homeless guy who said, "God bless you!" when I gave him two bucks the other day. And a different friend who wrote a long Christmas email once who said, "even if you don't believe in God, I want you to know God is with you this Christmas." AAARGHH.

I think I'll get over this particular incident. I just wanted to get this feeling out.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]