You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) September 03, 2012 - 12:08 p.m.

I heard & read Mitt Romney's RNC speech. It was superficially polite, as I guess you have to be in these kinds of speeches, and I guess if I was American I wouldn't ever be voting Republican style for sures, so I'm pre-biased. But the speech just gave me the most grumpy feeling, exactly the same way as when your housemate leaves you a note gently reminding you not to wash the blender all assembled ever again. You have to TAKE IT APART TO WASH. Thx.

Well, just like I said at the time of the Blender Incident, I didn't wash the blender all assembled. I washed it disassembled, let it air dry, then put it together again for later. In terms of the US economy, when Obama was elected, he didn't break the economy. Bigwigs who thought they could bend the laws of gravity ripped off people who were tricked into thinking they could afford to buy a house did it, and finally, inevitably failed in their smoke and mirrors financial instruments, and the last four years has been a case of trying to put shit back together. Not that I'm that well informed to know for sure I'm 100% behind Obama or anything, either.

I guess I'm scared that if Mitt Romney is elected, the hope of proper regulation and a glimpse of equity would get crushed. Romney doesn't strike me as a warlord type of guy like most presidents, but... I don't know. The world does see the US in the same way as it sees Iran. The only difference is, I think Iran knows how it is perceived. When I say this, I don't mean everyone in the US is walking around in blissful ignorance. It's just when another political speech includes the line, "We're the best country in the world," I just don't get how they can say that. And how arrogant. There has been a lot of misery spread throughout the world.

Australia's pretty good and all that. We have some kick-arse regulation, and that's why most people are doing OK. But we have our demons. You can already see some of them in the Intervention and detention camps. I think more demons will become obvious when the mining boom is over.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]