You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) July 24, 2012 - 1:26 p.m.

I'm in a listy mood at the moment. I seem to be getting really sensitive to caffeine, which is the worst thing that could ever happen to me. I had a latte at 9:45 yesterday morning, but I still struggled to get to sleep any earlier than 12:30AM. I'm buggered today, but while slowly zoning out to a Smodcast last night, I formulated this list.

Movies that made the 90s pop for me:

  • Don't Tell Mom the Babysitter's Dead: I watched this a thousand times. It was like my Bridget Jones' Diary; filmic comfort food to the max. Something in the last couple of days made me think of this movie, which triggered the whole list I have going on here. I have to watch this movie again ASAP - I definitely haven't seen it since the 90s. God, it's probably terrible.

  • Tie Me Up, Tie Me Down - I saw this on SBS on one of my late Friday night jaunts across TV-land (my parents went to bed at about 9PM, therefore late night in this instance was approx. 9:30). I was like, WOAH. This is actually quite RUDE. Every time I saw it in the program listings from then on, I'd camp out for it. Definitely not my favourite Amoldovar movie, but it was my first Amoldovar movie. Great director, man.

  • Mallrats - This was one to watch with friends. Plus if you knew about Jay and Silent Bob, and that they were in Clerks first, it made you cool. I don't think I realised the whole Kevin Smith being Silent Bob thing at that time.

  • Farinelli - because I have a dark side which is at once Epic Classical Music Nerd yet simultaneously Bataille-oriented Fucked Up Philosophy nerd. I'm assuming everyone has a fucked-up side. This is my fucked-up side. I guess you could describe it as 'Classical Smut Wanker.' I only really like the type of classical music that has some sort of repugnant undercurrent. Luckily, there is a lot to choose from. Seeing an 18th century opera-singing guy with no balls tag team a chick with his intact brother did it for me one night in the 90s. Big Time. I was by myself in the cinema while everyone else from Youth Group was watching a Star Trek Next Gen movie, or some chick-flick. I'm glad I saw it by myself. I cried real hard during the Rinaldo scene. SO HARD. It was transcendental. This Aria is still one of my all-time fave songs. Maybe not this version (a bit cheesy in its musical choices at the end), but yeah. My 16-y.o. self was 100% behind this.

  • The Bill and Ted Movies - these guys cast a long shadow. I mean, if I put this here, which I have to, Wayne's World and Wayne's World 2 are not required. Nor is Dude, Where's My Car? All these guys carry the eternal flame from when Booger from Revenge of the Nerds first lit up the screen. Jeff Spicoli was kinda too complex in my opinion to be an archetype of stonerism, but he's cool too. The important thing is, stoners are the coolest type of 90s person.

    Fuck, I promised myself I'd only choose five. Well, these movies were formative in my life or something. I need to put The Craft in here too somewhere, but I wrote these ones down first. Just know The Craft was important. Goddamnit, and Bernard and the Genie. Edward Scissorhands maaaaaaaaybe should be in here, but not sure. ARGH, now I'm thinking of all the movies that should be here. I'd better go before it gets too bad.

    P.S. I still have never seen Empire Records.




    Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]