You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) May 28, 2012 - 11:14 a.m.

I had to do an irritating mapping assignment all the way through Diane's and my Eurovision Song Contest Marathon yesterday. But that's cool. It's not like I had to use all my brainpower to write an essay. It was more like trying to figure out how the hell to make the mapping program work for the twelve hours we were in front of the telly.

Because my Dad has an English surname and my Mum had an Austrian surname, I feel slight favouritism towards those countries. I wish I didn't because they always, always, always come up with acts that are THE WORST. Just the pits. They never fail to get it as wrong as they can possibly manage. I can tell Austria's entry every year just by being exposed to two seconds of it. That keeps it at safe levels. At least Engelbert Humperdinck held it together for the UK pitch-wise on the night. It's just that no-one liked it.

Ultimately, I wanted Sweden to win, and they did. So that worked out for me.

I also debuted in the 'twitterverse'. I was busting to get a comment to appear on the SBS Eurovision broadcast. I finally got my comment aired, which was the worst one I'd written that night: "There really does not need to be a male version of the Titanic theme unleashed on the world." That was in reference to Serbia.

All in all, a good night, except that the news ruined everything by telling us Sweden had won an hour before the final came on. BOO.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]