You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) January 06, 2012 - 2:38 p.m.

Woah, OK, mostly back to reality now. Back in the office.

I redid the music room. Now it looks like a relaxing rainbowy lounge/library, which is cool. I also filmed myself practicing some piano which I might put onto youtube.

Last week some time, I was coming down the escalator at Southern Cross Station. I heard some English voices. "Please help us!"

I thought, shit. I'm too weak to deal with robbers/muggers right now. I mean, I was working for the dark side anyway since Michele and I had stolen some rosemary out of somebody else's front yard earlier that evening.

I got down the bottom of the escalator and went over to the pleading English people. Two guys. They seemed kind of more relaxed than what their voices implied. The only weird thing was that one of them was reaching into his jumper a lot. That made me think, oh, shit, again, but in a different way.

There was most of a lanyard in one hand, and then it turned into thin string and disappeared inside this guy's jumper. He said, "I'm stuck."

It looked like the lanyard was caught in a zippy bit of his jumper. I said, "Why don't you break this bit off?"

They both said, "No, no!" and gestured wildly. The stuck one said, "This is a very precious and valuable item."

So I had a closer look. I said, "Why don't we do this?" and unzipped the guy's jumper a little bit.

Lo and behold, inside was the clear plastic bit that held his Very Precious Card, sporting the glazed-looking photo of himself that you'd expect to see, along with ID. It was slightly underneath a strap for a little bag he was wearing.

He was free. I have no idea why he, or the friend, could not have tried out this simple maneouvre. Well, maybe I do. I think they were on the tail end of being full-on Christmas Office Party drunk.

They said, "Thankyou! Thankyou!"

I said, "have a good night," and walked away to find my own small segment of the platform.

I thought being a hero would feel more heroic.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]