You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) October 07, 2011 - 10:02 a.m.

I had the most incredible dream last night. It taught me once and for all, I can hear things in my dreams.

I woke up in a hotel. I just had this vibe that the volcano nearby was going to erupt, big time. It was the type of volcano that spews asphyxiating gas and dust that clogs up your lungs.

I wanted to get out of town. Everybody else in the hotel seemed as cool as cucumbers.

I went to the reception and the lady there said that my car was valet parked about 3km away. I was like, "What? How come parking is that far away? Who does that when they're designing a brand new hotel?"

But then I glimpsed out the door. I saw my car, the two-door festiva, parked on a grass verge. No idea why.

So I ran outside. There was blood rushing all in my head; I felt real panic. I took just one moment to look up at the sky, in the direction of the volcano. I could see the very thin edge of a strange cloud, creeping over the sky.

I drove the fuck away.

I came to your work. Your building was this weird, four-storey building with a tiny floor area in a leafy suburb. The whole place was completely covered inside by fake, shiny wood panelling. You were on the top floor. I was there to rescue you.

I couldn't figure out where your desk was. I'd get lost every time I came to visit you there, even at the best of times. It was a real rabbit warren. But, there you were, on the top floor. I explained everything, and you came with me without hesitation. Neither of us could figure out how to get to the front door for a while there.

We got in the car, and nobody followed us out. Nobody else seemed panicked. It didn't seem like an emergency situation any more because there were huge tree canopies obscuring the sky, and there was silence. But I guess, there was a bit too much silence.

So, we drove and drove. Thank Christ there was enough petrol in the car. We drove for about four hours, up the highway. A few people were doing the same thing. We could see the strange cloud chasing us, but it got further and further away. Nevertheless, we knew that everything we had in the town was gone. All we had was the car, the stuff we took everywhere, and a crochet blanket lying next to you on the seat.

We decided to stop in a town, to get supplies. Kitchen supplies for some reason. You were the one who wanted them - I think you wanted a frypan and stuff so that we could rely on ourselves for the next few days. There was widespread panic in the town. The kitchen shop we went into was empty of people. No shop-people or anything. We had money, but we didn't know what to do since the place was abandoned. And then I said, "Wait a sec. We've spent too much time here," and the shadow of the cloud went over the street.

We went outside, but the car wasn't there. I could see in the break between two buildings that everything in the direction we had come was grey, and we needed protection. So we ran around the block and found this kind of void underneath a building. It was all concrete and dark and there was a staircase going up. It was probably a place where people parked their cars and upstairs were some offices.

It was so dark there, especally as the cloud went overhead. It turned the sky into a red sunset - by this time, it was late afternoon anyway.

And then, after a short while, we could tell there were other people in this area. Our eyes were adusting to the darkness. There were teenagers, wearing all different types of hats sitting around in the dark too, chilling out. I felt like this was where they always hung out. And they lit some candles, and they were doing some type of ceremony. And there was music that was really relaxing, and it was the most surround sound thing I ever heard. I felt safe, and that we weren't going to die, but we didn't have any ties to anything anymore.

And then in real life, I woke up. I pretty much never remember such detailed dreams. The outside was exactly as dark as it was in the dream, but there were thousands of birds singing, because they had seen the very start of the sunrise.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]