You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) October 11, 2010 - 1:03 p.m.

The weekend just past was Weekend Central. So weekendy, it stretched out like it was a full-on four week summer holiday. Roland and I stayed in a posh hotel for free and got another free stay out of it (long story there), packed a free buffet lunch into ourselves so we didn't have to ever eat again, saw the Boredoms, played a gig at Finders Keepers craft festival, etc.

It started off on Saturday when Diane came over and gave me chocolates from France. Awesome. Then Tristan's birthday party, and then we had to rush off to get to this hotel thing we were staying at. The Boredoms gig was nearby.

The Boredoms started playing at midnight. There were ten drummers with full drum kits, and a guitar thing made up of several guitars you'd hit with a big pole. It was like a crazy spin on Taiko, which is a traditional Japanese drumming thing. I couldn't believe that some people WEREN'T WEARING EARPLUGS. There were free earplugs at the door. You don't normally get that. Surely that would have rung a few alarm bells. Big-arse alarm bells.

After a few hours of being bombarded with incredibly together full drumkit pounding, Roland and I realised we just had to go. It was fucking late, and we had to go play at a gig at Docklands the next day. So we just went.

Thank Christ we were staying in the city, man. Or we would have been stranded. Big time. Neither of us had any cash, and the trains were long gone. We walked to the hotel.

The bed at the hotel was about a quarter as good as our own bed. And it was fully tropical hot in our room, but I slept.

Anyway, after the giant breakfast, we went to the craft festival. Everything there to buy was awesome, and Portal Window sounded pretty darn good in my opinion, which is biased, because I only hear how we sound from the point of view of someone playing in the band.

One of my instrumental students was suddenly there, so I freaked out. I got ultra-nervous wich is unlike me. Usually I'm mad chilled out before I play. It puts a lot of pressure on when you're the teacher, and you're playing professionally and a student's there. You don't want to sound sub-par. You want to sound above-par, you know?

After going home and turbo-napping, somehow I found it within myself to go for a run with Daniel. And thus, upon very sore legs, my weekend came to a close.

FINIS




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]