You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) August 08, 2010 - 8:01 a.m.

I hsve to write this all down so I remember it.

On Friday evening, I was determined to get a big, fatty meal from McDonald's. There's one right near my train station, so as soon as I got off the train after work, that's where I headed.

I never made it to that McDonald's. The reason was that a girl in a light pink coat and sparkly grey harem pants asked me where the taxis were.

She was all like, "I'm from Paris. I just moved today. I'm so lost." Etc.

So I said, "I got no ideas where the taxis are, mate."

She showed me a map of where her house was. It was kind of close-ish. I told her how to walk there, but it turned out that she needed to get there to pack in order to go catch a plane at 8:45 to Sydney.

SO, we walked to my house (really close), and I just drove her. I was in for the long haul.

We got to her street, and we were looking for house number 5. The only thing was, there was as bloody break in the street, so you couldn't drive past a point. Stupid break in the street. We got out and just walked up the other end.

In the dark, I could see the number 5, but she said, "No, is that it? Is that number 5? My house is white."

Turns out, her house is definitely not white.

After a few minutes of trying to convince her that her house was her house, she found the key under the doormat and we went in.

OK, so, while she was packing, or before, can't remember, we found out that her flight left from Avalon airport. Some guy in Sydney she'd met on the net had booked the flight, so he was unaware of the fact that he had booked the flight to go from a whole complete other city than Melbourne.

So, thus began a frantic series of phone calls to this guy to get him to change the flights, this time get her name right on the ticket, and to the plane people to cancel the other flight. My job was to hold the phone while we were on hold so that she could toss belongings into a giant orange bag.

OK, so, finally, she was booked on another flight that left from the city we were in. So I drove her to the airport.

On the way, she told me that she was studying law in Paris, and that she was doiung an internship in Melbourne in the summer uni holidays. That was all kinda normal.

But it turns out that this guy from the net, she's known since she was 13 because her dad wanted her to improve her English skills by frequenting internet chatrooms. That's pretty cool.

But then, she said that they'd met up once before in Switzerland and he's tried some moves on her pretty seriously, and she wasn't into it. And now this guy is paying for her to come and visit in Sydney. Hm. I don't think it bodes well.

Last time she was in Sydney, she said, she was at this bar with all these model agents and lawyers and stuff, and she met this Chris Rockstar guy, who gave her a bunch of songs he'd written (I heard them on her iphone), and they'd gotten along really great, though he was 16 years older, and they ended up on a rooftop overlooking Sydney and he was dancing around in the nude, and it was really good because he used to be a professional, and she was filming it all, but he was all like, "No, stop, if this goes on the net I'll be ruined!" So she had to delete it. Of course, he'd tried the moves on her too. "Let's go to the spa and bang," he had said to her. "What's this 'bang'?" she asked me. I explained, amazed that she's not already dead in a ditch somewhwre. I mean, I could have been a murderer, and those guys in Sydney, well, *shudder*.

I said, "You should get these guys to meet up. Then you'll be OK." And she thought that idea was kinda cool. That way, they can cock block each other.

Anyway, so the internet guy is going to drive her back to Melbourne today so that on Monday night, she can meet up with a Russian designer (She's Russian, by the way) and get some cool clothes for a photo shoot so that she'll have a portfolio together so she can be a model in Paris.

OK.

And then, I dropped her off at the airport. Hugs, and then off she went. Crazy times. Her Dad had rung during the journey, and I guess she told him in Russian that she was all fine. She said thast if she told her Dad about going to Sydney and why, he'd kill her. That is, if nobody else does the job first.

I hope she's OK. She said thast she'd buy me lunch on Monday, but we'll see how that goes. I get the feeling I'll never hear from her.

Oh, yeah, and then after I dropped her off, I went straight to the McDonald's just after you leave the airport. Big Mac Meal. It was good.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]