You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) May 31, 2010 - 9:30 a.m.

OK, so it's fairly good that Germany won the Eurovision Song Contest. My favourite from Cyprus didn't really get anywhere, but that's OK because I can put the song on my ipod and pretend they won anyway. I think they were pretty stoked just to even get to the semi-final, let alone the final. Maybe they should have worn some snazzy gear instead of looked like they'd just finished a shift at Safeway, but that's cool.

Also good: Romania and the see-through conjoined pianos, Ukraine and the see-through dress, and Greece and the thankfully not see-through-clothed out-of-shape guy. Damn, that song was catchy.

Germany are usually crapper than the UK, which is a tall order. Not last night, though - they have finally tapped into the rich German musical vein first exploited by Bach and passed onto Beethoven and Brahms and all that. I don't know why they made the singer look completely 90s; it kind of baffles me, but that's OK. The song was pretty cool, if you like pretty cool songs. And Germany have only won one other time, so it's nice.

My favourite concept for the whole night was not the guy who ran onto the stage but the saxophone player from Moldova. That was some excellent saxophone-based thrusting.

I have to write the song for the UK next year. Or let that guy from the Darkness have another crack.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]