You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) March 15, 2010 - 9:22 a.m.

I did my first fun run yesterday. The length was pretty minimal - 14.1km. I guess it was slightly less minimal than the 5km option you could do. It took us about two hours and twenty minutes.

I did the run with Daniel, who is kind of fit and kind of not fit. After eating a large breakfast and thinking we were going to be late, we got there and waited around basically at the back of the giant sea of humanity. I was nervous.

An entire half hour after I thought we'd get going, the race actually started. We had decided to go the fast walk option because I can run for an unknown amount of time, and by unknown, I mean a very small, completely untested amount of time. We headed towards the Domain Tunnel. Suddenly, when we got into the tunnel, Daniel was off like a shot, weaving around joggers and then leaping onto this elevated bit you weren't supposed to be on and going for it. I thought that was the worst thing, especially because we were still at the START of the race. But, nevertheless, we ran to the first toilet stop, disburdened ourselves of the extra weight of urine, and then kept going. Walking this time. I might mention now that my walking was sometimes faster than Daniel's running.

Before we knew it, we were at the 6km mark and we were ascending Bolte Bridge. We made a pact to run down the other side, and that the huge pylon in the middle of it would be where we'd start running. We did that, for about four seconds, and then decided to stop and take photos of each other, as you do when you're in a race.

We got to the bottom and passed a butterfly going in the same direction as us which made me feel pretty good. We went past the bar I was at a few weeks ago where the Canadians were having a really good time, and there were pockets of official cheerleaders cheering us on. We passed Spiderman. He was one sweaty guy in his non-breathable lycra outfit.

Right near the end, at Flinders Street Station, Daniel spotted his girlfriend, so we did some hero running to impress her. I think that was when I pulled all the muscles in my right leg. She went out of sight but we kept running anyway, with hunched over walking in between. I ran the last two hundred metres as if in slow motion, and Daniel and I did marathon running victory hands, so we won. Well, at least we beat nearly two thousand other people.

Then I had a pint of cider and basically died. I haven't recovered yet.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]