You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) December 07, 2009 - 1:01 p.m.

Today, a charity guy was inappropriate to me. It made me mad.

First of all, he stopped me at the train station while I was trying to get to work on time. I didn't mind that bit, actually. But then he asked me what book I was reading. I didn't want to show him. I knew this was a ploy to get me talking to him. He didn't really care what it was in real life.

I was forced to show him. It was a book about Adam Ant.

He said, "Oh, yeah - people say I look like him."

I guess so. Maybe 35%. There was way more of a young Lou Diamond Phillips going on there though.

Then he went on the traditional spiel about children needing clean water, etc. etc. That was all OK. I was reasonably attentive. I like to be respectful in this bit because I think it's important to think about these things and all that. I actually give more to a different charity each month than he was asking for from me, so I'm sort of at my limits there. But I was yet to reveal this.

And then he said, "And it's all totally tax deductible, so at tax time you'll have enough to take me out to dinner!"

Woah, WOAH.... Back it up there, Mister.

Number One, I am over seventy-five years old, and he was maybe three, so that's ILLEGAL. Number Two, it was said in the most insincere way possible. Number Three, this is a charity, bro. What the hell?

The worst time someone asked me out was on the train. Some guy asked for the time, and then plunged right in there with, "Do you have a boyfriend?"

Yes, yes, a thousand times yes. Even if I hadn't had one at the time.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]