You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) October 03, 2008 - 9:58 a.m.

I think Jimmy Page is a very fantastic guitarist; I mean he played in Led Zep AND the Yardbirds, who are a most brilliant band and played live in the movie Blow-Up, the best movie ever, and sometimes he didn't even have his shirt open, thrusting his chest out like his Led Zep bandmate Robert Plant. He was too busy playing the guitar well a lot of the time.

HOWEVER

Wait a sec. Firstly, I should say that the song Black Dog is a very good song. The singing is catchy, and it's a classic and all that.

HOWEVER

What is with that bit that happens every now and then where the guitar and bass is all slowish and the drums knows what it's doing but then they eventually catch up with each other? You know, the bit that goes, "Du-nu-nu-nah-nu-nah-neow" times four. Actually, now that I think of it, if you sped it up to match barlines with the drums, it would sound pretty crap.

Anyway, whatever; I think they're just trying to be smart arses in this song. They're just showing that they can do that thing where the time signatures are different but the beats are the same that we learnt about in music theory class at uni that I forgot the name of. Maybe it's hemiola. To me, that whole bit sounds like one of those old-fashioned motorbikes with a sidecar and the sidecar comes off it and goes down a completely different street and then by some miracle meets up with the motorbike itself again, with hilarious results.

On another note, Electric Light Orchestra are creepy. I know this isn't exactly the words, but this is what they sound like:

"

  • Don't bring me down, Bruce.
  • Don't bring me down, Bruce.
  • Don't bring me down, Bruce.
  • Don't bring me down, Bruce.
    "




    Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]