You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) September 30, 2008 - 8:37 a.m.

On Sunday, it was my Grandad's birthday party, and at some point, my Grandma leant over and whispered dramatically, "You know, Clare, I think my time is drawing to a close."

I said, "No, it isn't," and ran away from the dining table in a rage.

Here are the reasons why it made me mad:

  • It's inappropriate at a birthday party
  • She just wants some kind of weird attention/to shock
  • I think she wants to get the spotlight off my aunty who just died in quite a drawn-out way of cancer two weeks ago and get the sympathy back onto her (which it isn't normally though)
  • She's been saying stuff like that to me since I was in primary school
  • Nobody else says that, in that specific way.

    ARG!

    Hey, I've been pissfarting around on the net, looking up shit about my ancestors. There is a LOT.

    Here is an article written by my Great Grandad (it's the article on the right). I can't believe you can just look this stuff up on the net. He was an alcoholic Zionist in Vienna and sort of perished during WWII. I say sort of because he died of a bladder infection in a hospital, but it was a Jewish hospital, so, you know. You're not going to have the best resources there.

    The equivalent on my Dad's side was a guy who came to New Zealand from the town he shared a last name with. That's my last name too. I found a whole blurb about him in a little booklet. He really liked to swim for prizemoney in the sea.

    I found his parents on the net too, in the UK 1881 census. They worked in cotton mills in Oldham. Oldham was THE cotton capital of the world at that time. Maybe they met in the mill they worked at.

    The equivalent on my Grandma's side was called Harry Potter. Strangely, not magician, but policeman, pub proprietor, owner of a very, very large beard. Some might say, shades of Dumbledore.

    I wonder what would happen if they all met. They would probably wonder why they're all meeting, and that they have very little in common with each other, and that they feel uncomfortable. Yet, here I am.




    Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]