You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) September 19, 2008 - 7:42 a.m.

Hey, the internet at work is still dead. It's been over two weeks now. I'm so good at freecell, it's ridiculous.

In other news, I just woke up and I was 30. Shit. It feels pretty good. It feels a lot like being 29, but with more presents.

Looking back, The last 10 years have been pretty insane. In a good way. All the things I wanted to do, I did. I finished my architecture degree, did a piano degree, drove to Adelaide in one day, joined a band (or four), played at the Espy (with Giants of Science and the Spazzys), wrote a novel (I wrote three), smoked pot, played live on the radio, have cool friends, went to the North Island of New Zealand and saw volcanoes, moved out, lived in a shared house, saw legendary bands live, got an aquarium with cute fish that actually live for more than two weeks, etc.

It's been the best.

OK, for the next ten years, I have some goals. They are mostly to do with travel.

  • Go to Mongolia
  • See Uluru
  • Maybe get some kind of degree harder than bachelor
  • Join a piano trio and put on concerts
  • Volunteer in Cuba (build a school or something)
  • Get some kids
  • Get DVDs of the Cosby Show and the Proposition (I could probably act on this immediately with my birthday money)
  • Do some guerrilla gardening
  • Own property (I want to live in a creepy house)

    After that, there are some things I want to do in my 40s. They involve marathons and Kokoda tracks, which Rosie and I are already in training for. Possibly one day, decades from now, I'd like my own radio show called "The bluffer's guide to..." where I talk at length about the key aspects to all kinds of musical genres so you can seem knowledgeable about it.

    And, ultimately, I want to end up in an old people's home with my friends and a really nice garden, and have an expensive digital piano in the bedroom so I can play with my headphones on.

    Then I'll die, but it will be OK.




    Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]