You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) August 20, 2008 - 10:44 a.m.

OK, I've got really sore legs today.

The only reason for this that I can come up with is that I've been watching too much olympics. My legs are sore in the way that feels like I've been exercising. I have been watching a lot of exercising, as such, by watching every second of the olympics. And therefore, perhaps, in some mystical way, I too have been exercising.

I've also been crying every time I hear the national anthem. This includes any national anthem, now that I think of it.

Thinking back four years, I had the same problem. Every time anybody won anything, I would cry. I remember there being an ad on the telly about sports, and I cried at that one too.

Two years ago, I went to the Commonwealth Games, for real, like, I was there. I went off my fucking nut when the Australian lady won the marathon. I totally lost it. So did my Mum, and everyone else in the stadium who weren't my sisters, who spent the time looking worried about us. I think my Dad was in between. The crowd was deafening. It was one of the coolest things I ever went through, and I was way up in the back row at the MCG.

I have developed a new amusement for myself during this olympic games. This is to scream, "YOU STUFFED IT!" at the TV when anybody does anything vaguely wrong, or loses, etc. A lot of male gymnasts have been touched by my catchphrase of constructive criticism this olympics. If they forget to point their toes for one second, I'm on their case like nobody's business.

It's really cathartic. As a result of screaming at people that they stuffed it up every ten minutes, I feel a lot more relaxed generally. Maybe that's what sports spectatorship is all about.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]