You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) February 05, 2008 - 8:25 a.m.

Last week, I went to the Big Day Out and I saw Rufus Wainwright. Do I ever need to see any music ever again?

Yes, probably.

Rage Against the Machine were excellent. It was so 90s. I haven't actually listened to all their music since the 90s, so every song that began was like a flashback to me sitting on my bed at my parents' house, doing my maths homework with unbearably loud riffing going on the whole time. It was kind of awesome. A guy threw up behind me so it wasn't 100% awesome.

Dizzee Rascal was fun.

What the hell is with this D barrier thing they've got going on there? They didn't have that last time I went to the Big Day Out. I didn't know that basically it's impossible to get anywhere near the big stages after midday, so I completely missed out on seeing the bestest band ever, Arcade Fire, up close, or even middle distance. That would have been fine. But I had to see them long distance. Big meanies. They were everything I wanted and more, except they were mostly viewed by me on the big tellies. POO.

The opposite occurred when Rosie and I went to see Rufus Wainwright at Hamer Hall, the most seventies concert hall ever created. We discovered that even though Rosie had bought the tickets in September, we were right in the back row, to the left. There was only one person further left than us, and then there was a wall. The support act played, and she was so freaking tiny. It was basically like watching a well-lit ant play.

So it was very surprising when a lady came up to us and said with much mystique, "do you guys REALLY like Rufus Wainwright?"

We said, "Yeah." We sounded confused though. I was worried.

She said, "Here, take these tickets and go right down the front."

We said, "thanks."

And so it turned out that we got to sit right at the front, square in the middle. It was THE BEST. There was brilliant singing, flamboyant costumes, dance numbers, a large range of instruments, etc. Hours upon hours of excellent fun. AND we got to sit down, which when you're ninety-eight like me is very handy.

I was a mess the next day, though. I kept crying I was so fucking worn out. We didn't have a car this week and so I kept getting home at my bedtime.

I have a semi-relaxing day today, though.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]