You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) July 23, 2007 - 9:59 p.m.

I'm sort of watching Torchwood right now. It's daggy, but not in a Doctor Who kind of daggy way. it's a lower level of daggy. It's daggy in the way that I never realised the X-Files was as a teenager.

Somehow, as an adult I really like some shit that I thought I never would as a child. In fact, my childhood self still feels rather disappointed at who I turned out to be. For sure, I still like early seventeenth century opera the way I did when I was ten, which is a good thing. But things that my ten-year-old self is disappointed about my adult self liking are westerns, sleazy eighties English toff bands like Spandau Ballet and ABC, and the news. Also, television coverage of bicycle races. This is a new development. I'm really liking the Tour de France. I keep falling asleep in front of the telly in a blanket to it. To see people doing something that horiffically gruelling live in the daytime on the other side of the world somehow comforts me. I enjoy watching cyclists still cycling along but getting their wounds patched up by doctors going alongside in moving vehicles.

I know this is going to sound crazy, but I'm scared to read other peoples' diaries right now. I feel daunted by the prospect. I hope this feeling passes.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]