You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) December 28, 2006 - 9:44 p.m.

I experienced this year's Christmas.

More importantly, I went to the hospital in my pjs on Christmas eve at 4AM. I was not in a festive mood.

I had to play piano in front of a whole bunch of kids the day before that. It's unrelated to what I just said. It was like an end of year concert for everyone to show off how great their kids are, and then I swoop in at the end and blow everyone's minds (own parents not present). I played my warhorse piece, while feeling very dense through a layer of sniffly cold. I could also feel a cold breeze going into my butt, which indicated that my pants was largely open to the air and all the kids were facing it. Later, my piano teacher claimed that I had sounded 'slightly detached' when I was playing. I think I know why.

On Christmas eve, which may or may not require a capital E for the word eve, I went back to bed after the hospital at 6AM and then got up at 9:30AM in order to run up a very large number of stairs in the forest. it's all the rage. I went with Rosie.

For some reason, I told her about one time when I was five and we got our first computer. It was a MacPlus. This is a good memory. My parents left me alone with the computer for one second, and when they came back, I had renamed the floppy disk in there from an abbreviated version of my family's last name to something like kkljl''';;;. I seem to remember that there were many ks in it. My parents came back, and they went nuts. They were like, "HOW THE HELL DID YOU DO THAT?!?!?!?!?!" I was all like, "I don't know." I was five, for Christ's sake. I did what any five-year-old would do, which is fiddle about violently with buttons. And so they pressed on a promising thing in the menu that said, "Get info" and typed into a little box, "We do not want the name of the floppy disk to be, 'kkljl''';;;.' We want it to be 'family'." Or something like that. It did not work.

Looking back, that was a stupid thing to do. But it's hard to know what to do when faced with the file name kkljl''';;; for the first time.

We got a barbecue for Christmas.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]