You think we're dancing? ... That's all we've ever done.

 

older/gbook/>>(in case of__)__//before&after ___my youtube__...
My novel 2004.. My novel 2006.. My novel 2008..

(diaryland) July 13, 2006 - 4:42 p.m.

It was my sister's birthday yesterday. I gave her a pencil case with a stapler, scissors and glue, and I also gave her a book about souveniers from East Germany.

I mentioned that is was my sister's birthday to a grade 1/2 class today. This is what they said. I am represented in the conversation as Clare.

Lewis: How old is she turning?

Clare: She's turning 24.

Lewis: WOAH! THAT'S OLD!

Clare: Well, I'm 27!

Lewis: That's almost as old as my Grandma! She's 70!

Clare: Not really. At least, I don't think so.

Lewis: Someone in my class has a grandma who is 98!

Kobi: Yeah, that's me.

Lewis: In two years, your Grandma's going to die.

Clare: Spends two minutes explaining that it isn't necessary for people to die when they're exactly 100

Bryce: My Grandma was going to die, but then she got some flesh.

'Got some flesh'. I like that. It brings up many visual suggestions. I wonder exactly what Bryce meant by 'getting some flesh'. I guess it meant that she got her appetite back, but I don't imagine it that way when I think about it. I didn't want to laugh at the time. I just said, "Oh," and then we went onto other topics, such as learning how to play a tune.

It was excellent though.




Cherry Soda [prev | list | join | next]